In the cove of the southern Gulf of Hermione, the “Porto Capers” at a distance of about one km. from the beach and 2 km. the town is the Monastery of St. Anargyroi. Valued sample Byzantine monastic architecture and famous for its springs with thermal waters, is built on the ruins of the temple of Asklepios between 9th and 11th century.
In a tradition of place here from old Asclepius healed people with the healing waters of the source and the foundations of the holy Saints Anargyroi continue to treat people … not only from physical illness. The beginning of the history of the monastery dates back to the 11th century. A.D. But from the 16th century. clear and accurate evidence and details of its history.
The contribution of the monastery has been significant in the `21 Match. When the beginning of 1826 began preparations for the convening of the National Assembly G. notables Hydra Spetses proposed to meet the Monastery “fiber syskefthomen orimos on common interests. Eidopoiisamen thereof and brothers Psara “.
Here there is an important library, “Karamaneios Library”, which bears the name of its founder, Hydra Metropolitan Prokopios Karamanou and is the single jewelry. It includes rare and old versions of classical, Byzantine and ecclesiastical writers, rows of old magazines and many foreign books. In the Library kept and Emmanuel Voulgaris file, brother of Prime Minister Dimitrios Voulgaris, documents containing important historical events of the region, 1800-1882 period.
Closely connected to the monastery is the thermal water which springs from the earth and concentrated in a small tank in the southwest corner of the Central Court. The analyzes were made indicating that the treatment capacity due to the underground deposits of minerals (sodium chloride, calcium, magnesium, sodium). Today the water has been declared unfit for daily use because of the high P.H. containing.