Palamidi is one of the finest castles in Greece and the largest and best preserved fortress complex of the Venetian.
Completed in 1714 in just a few years time record to serve the military and naval operations of the Venetians at the time.
It follows the natural line of the hill and becomes one with the landscape around him fully respecting the space and the purpose it was undertaken to serve. Kept in excellent condition, is one of the greatest achievements of Venetian fortification architecture.
The castle is located on the hill Palamidi, totaling 216 meters, to the point that dominates over the town of Nafplio and controls the Argolic bay.
O hill of Palamidi, which takes its name from the Homeric hero Palamedes, do not appear to have been systematically fortified until the second Venetian domination.
The Nafplion area was dominated first by the Venetians in 1470. During the first Venetian occupation, the Venetians made in strengthening and expansion of the castle of Akronafplia, without being preoccupied Palamidi. In 1540, Nafplio was conquered by the Turks.
Then for the first time utilized strategically Palamidi, although still unfortified, the Vizier Kasim Pasha, who during the three-year siege of Nafplio (1537-1540) kanoniovolouse the city from there.
The Venetians returned in 1686 and under Morosini again conquered the area, and even after a fierce battle for the conquest of the hill of Palamidi.
The Venetians then realized the strategic importance of many Greek ports, including Nafplion, and appreciated the position of Palamidi rock that protected physically entering the Argolic Gulf.
The fortifications seem to have begun by Francesco Morosini immediately after the return of the Venetians but the construction of the fortress was carried out essentially in the days of the Venetians General Intendant Fleet, Aygoustinou Sagredo (Agostino Sagredo), from 1711 to 1714, making the fortification the fortress real achievement both in terms of fortification and in terms of design speed.