Near the small village Frangoulis or Fragkoulianika, the street Areopolis – Gerolimenas, at a distance of about 6 km. from the caves of Dirou, is the Monastery of Faneromeni, dedicated to the Virgin Mary.
Founded in the late 11th century, tells us the dedicatory inscription, carved the original marble iconostasis universal, members of which are preserved in the courtyard of the monastery.
This inscription mentions the date 1079 and the name George, the craftsman of the sculpture. It also tells us that the church was dedicated to the Virgin Mary and was the founder of the monk Nikonas and Thalousis Kouskounaris, the village Kouskouni.
The church was rebuilt and decorated in the 14th century, as shown in the second inscription, preserved in the apse of the sanctuary. The work was carried out with the clerical help for prelacy of Mr. Nicholas, years 1322-1323, during the reign of Emperor Andronikos II Palaiologos Andronikos III Palaiologos and his wife, Irene.
Then the temple was dedicated to the Virgin Faneromeni dedication associated with the miraculous image of Our Lady of Cyzicus (Artaki), the cult of which enjoyed widespread Paleologos era.
The church is single-nave, Running and vaulted. In the early 12th century on the west side was added rectangular vaulted portico, architectural feature several monuments of Mani.
After the renovation of 1322-1323, the post-Byzantine and modern times, made several additions and alterations that have shaped the current form of the monument.
Inside are preserved frescoes of three different periods of the 11th century, in 1322 to 1323 and the first half of the 17th century.
The monastery now serves as female and celebrated on August 15.